MSTS 360 Midwest Sprint Touring Series

  • 1
Welcome to

Welcome to

Check out our schedule!

Dover takes exciting MSTS win, Schlumbohm wins I-90 Speedway’s Hobby Nats


I-90 Speedway

Dover takes exciting MSTS win, Schlumbohm wins I-90 Speedway’s Hobby Nats

Jack Dover and Tommy Barber exchanged slide jobs several times at the midpoint of Saturday’s Property Solutions of America Midwest Sprint Touring Series feature at I-90 Speedway. In the end, Dover would get the victory and extend his point lead.

“He’s making me work for it,” Dover said in victory lane about Barber. He’s one of the guys I worry about winning when I come race with the MSTS.”

“We were terrible the first eight laps,” the winner continued. “I kept telling myself to be patient. That was the key. It was a lot of experience right there.”

Barber rocketed to the lead from the second row that the drop of the green. He paced the field until the eighth lap when Dover delivered the first of many sliders. Barber fought back with a slider of his own and reclaimed the lead on lap ten.

At lap 12, it was another slider that gave Dover the lead. He’d go from there to get the win over Barber. Donovan Peterson had a season-best finish of third with Dusty Ballenger fourth. The Auto Lane Hard Charger award went to Jody Rosenboom who finished fifth after starting eleventh.

Earlier in the night, Tyler Schlumbohm charged from eleventh to the lead on lap 11 on the Hobby Stock Nationals feature.
“The car was perfect. Dad made it perfect,” said Schlumbohm in the winner’s circle. “The track was beautiful. There were lanes everywhere.”

Cory Kelderman led the first five circuits of the feature before Brady Klaassen took the top spot. Kelderman went back to the lead on the next lap. Schlumbohm then took over the lead and went to the win. For his win, he collected $500 for the base purse, $262 in his share of the progressive jackpot, $100 in bonus money from TDR chassis and $100 for the hard charger award from Todd Findling.

The IMCA sprint car feature had three different leaders as well. Jared Jansen led the first 14 laps before Elliott Amdahl took over out front and then Brant O’Banion grabbed the top spot and went on to his first I-90 Speedway victory.

The Late Model Street Stocks had the crowd on its feet, too. Four different drivers led at portions with Tim Dann sneaking into the top stop with just three to go. Dann’s career win number 25 at the speedway was his first at the track in the division.

Brock Hess got his second win of the year in the B-Modified class. The #16 started in the tenth spot and used a three-wide move on lap five to take over the lead.

Submitted By: Shawn Neisteadt

Article Media

Back to News

Latest Photos

Latest Videos

MSTS 360 Sprint Car Heats & B-Mod B Feature | I-90 Speedway | 7-3-2021
MSTS 360 Sprint Car Feature | I-90 Speedway | 7-3-2021
MSTS 360 Sprint & Tri-State Late Model Heats | Rapid Speedway | 7-20-2021
Sportsman & MSTS Sprint Features | Rapid Speedway | 5-21-2021